truelifeofasecondgradeteacher

My Digital Storytelling project

Posted on: November 10, 2012

http://prezi.com/2d635odu70de/it-was-a-terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad-grocery-trip/

Reading comprehension skills have become a dreaded topic in my classroom; mostly because, students have a hard time trying to grasp the higher level thinking questions that are integrated with these skills. However, my students are in second grade and with FCAT just around the corner, improving comprehension skills is something that we will work on daily. Last week we were learning about problem and solution. I read the wonderful story, Alexander and the Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, the children absolutely loved it. We tried to brainstorm some ideas about our own terrible, problem filled days, and how we solved these problems. I thought that creating a digital story in which the students can narrate a time where they had a problem and needed to discover a solution, would be a great way to integrate technology and learning in the classroom. I teach second grade, and have to admit that Prezi may be difficult for them to use and a little more sophisticated. Microsoft Story seems to be a better and more age appropriate software for children, in which they can create a slideshow of pictures and add music and audio to their story.

Please let me know if there is anything I need to add or remove from my story! Is this second grade level appropriate? We are all new to this, so any help would be great!

Thanks,
Amanda

3 Responses to "My Digital Storytelling project"

Amanda, Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day is one of my all-time favorite books and I know the young ones love it, too. Anytime we are able to retell a poplular story, it makes the students really get creative and use higher level thinking. 🙂 And, of course, it’s fun to see the results, too. Are the kids creating the story themselves or is this a class project – one that they will be making on their own? I do agree that a Prezi may be a little more difficult since they may need more advanced tech skills. I loved the owl template, by the way.

Hello Amanda, thank you for sharing your prezi with us. I was just wondering are you going to have students create their own stories? If that is the case I think it would be great to add an additional slide with comprehension questions based on the story, which will also help reinforce all those skills you are working on daily. Thank you again for sharing your project.
Megan B

Amanda,
This is a very cute idea! Maybe you could use the prezi as a narrative if you have your students use microsoft photostory. I think this is a great way to target your student’s reading comprehension skills. I think it would be a perfect acitvity for your students, but prezi might be a little challenging.

Leave a Reply

